DeFlip Side #170: 2016 Sci-Fi Madness! Results Show

DeFlip Side #170: 2016 Sci-Fi Madness Results Show.mp3

Welcome everyone. I’m Christopher DeFilippis and this is DeFlip Side.

And after six rounds of competition fought over a month of game play, a victor has emerged in the 2016 Sci-Fi Madness tournament!

I’m proud to welcome Dr. Sam Beckett into the Sci-Fi Madness hall of champions. The winner of our 2016 Temporal Tempest competition joins previous Sci-Fi Madness titleholders Farscape, which won best television series in 2013, Star Wars, which won best film franchise in 2014, and Mr. Spock, who won last year’s Movie Hero Melee.

Sam didn’t hop into the Accelerator Chamber and Leap into the winner’s circle right away, but he might as well have. As part of the Mad Scientists Division, he destroyed his first round competitor Colter Stevens from the film Source Code – which is fitting, since Source Code was just a Quantum Leap rip-off anyway. Our favorite quantum physicist then had his toughest match of the tournament with none other than Back to the Future’s Doc Emmitt Brown – but still, he triumphed with 59 percent of the vote.

In the rounds following, Sam stomped the likes of H.G. Wells, Wolverine and the T-800, until he came up to his final competitor – a plucky underdog named Marty McFly.

Actually, Marty was a force to be reckoned with in 2016’s Sci-Fi Madness competition, dominating the Outtatime Division from the start. Be they Doctor’s companions, scarlet speedsters, holographic Observers or time-looping weathermen, none stood a chance against a flying Delorean. Ironically, the one who came closest was Quantum Leap’s Al Calavicci, which goes to show how strong the Leaper fan love was in this competition. Ain’t that a kick in the butt?

In fact, that love proved pivotal in the Championship Round. Marty and Sam were tied right down to the wire. But Leapers spread the word on Facebook and Twitter, and a late game rally sent Sam over the top. He got a whopping 72 percent of the vote, and sent Marty back to Hill Valley, hoverboard in hand.

2016 SFM CH

Sorry Marty. Blame your fans. Due to their apathy, Sam now joins the ranks of previous Sci-Fi Madness winners like Farscape and Star Wars, who also owe their championships to late game fan rallies.

As far as the 2016 also-rans go, the most excellent Bill and Ted were the duo to beat in the Temporal Teams competition, trouncing several Star Trek crews along the way. And the Time Crimes division was dominated by cybernetic scoundrels The Borg and T-800. And while Arnold proved that resistance isn’t futile after all, it didn’t avail him against the good Dr. Beckett.

Now an eyebrow or two have been raised my way by some friends who find it a bit suspicious that my two favorite time travelers went the distance in the Temporal Tempest, and that Quantum Leap, of all the shows and movies represented, came out on top. But I assure you. The fix was not in.

Even after all these years, the fandom for both these franchises is as rampant as ever. We didn’t need Ziggy to predict that one of them was going to win. It just so happens that the Leapers were driven by an unknown force to change history for the better. And despite obtusely mystical bartenders and series finale infographics, they decided to bring Sam Beckett home.

We’re happy to have you here, Sam.

So now that the Temporal Tempest has died down, what’s in store for next year’s Sci-Fi Madness? Well, some of you may recall that I actually promised a different kind of competition for 2016 before I switched gears and went with time travelers. All I can say to that is that a Robopocalypse deferred is not a Robopocalypse denied.

So be sure to join us in 2017 for a royal robot rumble, in the next thrilling tournament of DeFlip Side’s Sci-Fi Madness!